Florida is one of ten states that have personal injury protection (PIP) auto insurance. Also known as no fault insurance, the intention was to provide injured drivers up to $10,000 in immediate medical coverage in lieu of establishing fault through the court system. The $10,000 is designed to cover your own injuries and lost wages resulting from auto accidents, regardless of who is at fault in the accident.
Requirements Under the PIP Law:
- Medical care for injuries resulting from an auto accident must be sought within 14 days of the accident. Failure to do so means that PIP benefits will not be paid.
- Initial care and services can be provided by medical doctors, doctors of osteopathic medicine, chiropractors, dentists, hospitals, facilities owned by a hospital, and emergency medical personnel.
- You must be diagnosed with an emergency medical condition (EMC) in order to receive the $10,000.00 of PIP benefits that you are required to carry.
- Lack of an EMC diagnosis results in a PIP reduction to $2,500.
- Emergency Medical Condition diagnosis can only be made by medical doctors, doctors of osteopathic medicine, advanced registered nurse practitioners.
- Massage therapy and acupuncture are not covered by the Florida PIP law.
Limits and Exclusions of PIP:
PIP has limits ranging from $2,500 to $10,000. If your losses exceed the limits of your policy or involve non-economic damages, you will have to look outside of your PIP coverage for full and fair compensation. Non-economic damages include:
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional pain and distress
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Permanent impairment and disability
For more information on Personal Injury Protection, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (727) 827-7777 today.
Get your questions answered – call me for your initial Consultation (727) 827-7777